I’m Vegetarian. What’s your problem?

I don’t know with other vegetarians out there but I get annoyed and irritated at times when people wonder how I’ve turned vegetarian, why I turned vegetarian or How come I don’t look like I’m vegetarian (What do vegetarians looks like anyway?). It makes me want to break their bones and make them realize that being vegetarian doesn’t mean you’ll be stick thin or make you lose weight drastically. The sole reason I opted to exclude certain meats in my diet is because of the hormonal imbalance that I have to fix in my system since I ballooned when I was induced with steroids 2 years ago. When I got back to yoga, thanks to the influence of Divine Wellness, I felt better.

I no longer drink hormonal imbalance medicines anymore such as birth control pills to keep my ovulation up-to-date, I wake up lighter and definitely have a lot of changes in my body system including bowel movement. I may have lost few weight with the help of the lifestyle change but it certainly isn’t purely because of the choice I’ve made in my food restriction but it was also because of the mileage I have to endure. People forget that being a vegetarian means you’ll have more carbohydrates in your diet even if it’s filled with fiber and nutrients.

I declared myself as flexitarian back in 2008 hence the name of my blog The Flexitarian Runaholic Diaries. Late last year slowly with the help of Divine Wellness, I gradually became  Pollotarian until I have finally made amendment to let go of poultry into a Pescetarian (Pesco-lacto-ovo Vegetarian) but then again, only a percentage of people knows what each means.

What’s the easiest way to describe your choice of menu? simply say you’re vegetarian, they’ll instantly understand from the first few letters of the word: VEGET (for Vegetables) regardless on what type of vegetarian you are but when you’re together with a purist, don’t mistake on saying you’re vegetarian without being specific  but then again, purists or vegans would call themselves as purists or vegan rather than vegetarian.

If you say “I’m Semi-Vegetarian”, there are a lot of questions asked after. Ah, I’d rather stick to the easiest way to describe my food preference; what about you?

For everyone’s knowledge, there are different types of vegatarians:

  • The Purist exculdes all types of animals, and dairy
  • Raw Vegan  incudes only fresh fruits, uncooked fruits, nuts, seeds and vegetables
  • Macrobiotic Vegetarianism consists mostly beans, seeds and whole grain
  • Fruitarianism includes only fruits, nuts and seeds and other foods that doesn’t harm another plant.
  • Buddhist Vegetarianism  excludes all animal products as well as vegetables in the allium family (which have the characteristic aroma of onion and garlic): onion, garlic, scallions, leeks, or shallots.
  • Pesco Vegetarian   includes fish
  • Ovo Vegetarianism includes eggs but not dairy products
  • Lacto Vegetrianism includes dairy products but not eggs
  • Ovo-Lacto Vegetarianism includes both eggs and dairy/animal products/products

Aside from these, there are other types of vegetarianism which evolved

  • Flexitarians is what they infamously known as “a vegetarian who occasionally eats meat”
  • Pollotarians eat chicken or other poultry, but not red meat.
  • Pescetarians eat fish or other seafood, but not red meat or poultry.

Intiendes?! I no longer want to explain myself nor ever find the need to explain myself about this ever again. I don’t question your preference, don’t question mines. It is the choice I made, not yours. Don’t look at me from head to toe for not being Olive oil (Popeye) or for being a Chunky Vegetarian. Again, let me reiterate: Vegetables are Carbohydrates, being a vegetarian won’t make you as thin as paper – It’s not a diet, it’s a lifestyle change. Please, stop associating being a Vegetarian as deprivation.

Instead, why don’t you try being vegan or vegetarian yourself? Guaranteed, your body will thank you for it.

8 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    pehpot said,

    this is very interesting! saw your link from pinoy bloggers in FB.. and may I add that vegans only have sex with vegans only (tama ba?)

    I heard that fruitarians only eat organic fruits :)

    this is the first time I heard about the other types

    • 2

      Hi Pehpot, Grabe naman the sex issue – I guess that depends on the person’s preference but not generally. Yes. Fruitarians only eat organic food – nothing that harms the plant itself, wild no? but there are people who does seriously.

      Glad to know you read, now you know :)

  2. 3

    dhenztm said,

    Great post!
    Very, very informative Kassy, I didn’t even know that “flexitarian” is a real word (I thought you had just invented it) :D

  3. 5

    witchkitty said,

    next time just tell … its my choice or tell them do I always have to explain everything? taray no? or just tell them, is their no right for me to opt for healthier lifestyle? lol mataray pa rin! or tell them ala lang trip ko eh … hahaha…next just smile and tell them well because :)

    • 6

      I can tolerate the question, I just can’t tolerate the way they react when they start saying “You’re vegetarian” and yet I’m chunky. I mean, c’mon dude, seriously. or when they say “you eat fish but you’re claiming you’re vegetarian?! YOU’RE NOT!” mas marunong pa eh. Nakakainis then try to drop a point to what the norms know about what vegetarian is – well, in old school terms vegetarian equates to as a purists but with the evolution, its a generalization to the type or kind of vegetarian are you.

      Thanks Chaia! :)

  4. 7

    Sarah said,

    I loved your article, very informative. I am also vegetarian but for health reasons. I got through a terrible health crises and my new vegan lifestyle helped me feel better. check out my story at my blog vegetarianstories.com
    cheers

    • 8

      you’re vegan now? that’s a huge leap! I also turned into a vegetarian for health reasons as well. I’m pesco-ovo vegetarian but slowly getting rid of tons of other things.

      Thanks for sharing! I’ll read through your blog :)


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,137 other followers

